It’s not a small world

Globalization is the inter connection of countries so that there is faster and easier exchange of goods, services, technology, ideas, information and thoughts. This is what they first taught me in school when I was 14. This is what they repeated to me in school and college as and when the curriculum demanded. They re-emphasized on the words faster and exchange. They drilled it in my mind that anything that possesses the characteristic of being shared whether tangible or intangible can be transferred to any given point on the globe. I believed it to be true, I believed that the entire world was a click away. But they were wrong and so was I.

map-267241_960_720

Because if it were true, I would have been able to appease you when you made the call. When the anxiety in your voice dawned upon me, I would have been able to extinguish that. Even though, every word that I uttered reached you the moment it escaped my mouth, it sounded as if it were hollowed down by every unit of distance between us. And what made perfect sense in my head, ceased to make any sense at all as it traversed via the air bands of our service providers. You were in trouble and you were scared and all I could do was to wrap my head around how technology and globalization were failing me. How the entire institution of faster exchange of thoughts was collapsing right in front of my eyes.

One of the primary benefits of technology is that it is empowering. But I did not feel empowered when you suggested disconnecting the call. Yes, I denied but how long could have that denial lasted because it were not as if you were in front of me. It were not as if I could keep circling around you and reason with you or quietly sit beside you and let you attain composure again. That is the problem after all, that we are not together. And as much as I keep on repeating to you on a usual day that I am still as much a part of your life as I was before, that I am only a message or a call away; I just came to realize that they were vacant words with which I have been tricking both of our minds.

They say that the world is shrinking. But they were wrong. Otherwise I wouldn’t have been sitting on the couch entrenched with helplessness, feeling the weight of every minute of the number of hours that it would take for me to reach you. Otherwise I would have materialized in front of you that very instant your voice spelled out that you needed me, the very instant I ought to have been with you.

 

 

9 thoughts on “It’s not a small world

  1. ShethP says:

    This is beautiful. I don’t know if it’s real or not (considering the two contrasting categories) but I can surely feel the emotions packed in here. And hey, there’s a reason behind everything, even if you can’t figure it out at the moment. 🙂 Happy blogging!

    • Palak says:

      Thank you so much! That pretty much defines what I am doing with my life currently, waiting for all the reasons to elucidate in front of me. Happy blogging to you too 🙂

  2. rogershipp says:

    “You were in trouble and you were scared and all I could do was to wrap my head around how technology and globalization were failing me.” Being able to reach out and actually offer assistance in more than words…. The true meaning of love in a small world. Enjoyed! And I share your pain.

    • Palak says:

      When words fail you, what other options are left but to silently know in your heart that you are trying your best to support the one you care for. Thank you so much for the kind words 🙂

Leave a Reply

