The First Day Talk

If I knew how to talk, I would have told you who I am. I would have told you what I am doing with my life or rather what I believe to be doing with it. I would have told you, why am I here. I would have told you, that I make very little sense on first days because I am too overwhelmed with the strangeness of my surroundings. I would have told you that my first conversations with people are filled with laughter not because they are hilarious but because I use laughter as a defense every time I cannot think of an appropriate response.

I would have told you how much I like the color that you have on. I would have told you how adorable I find that backpack of yours. I would have told you that I have been wanting to get one for myself this summer but haven’t had any luck so far. I would have told you that even though I don’t look as appreciative as I should, the compliment comes from the heart. I would have told you how weird is it that my facial muscles efficiently run through a hundred expressions everyday but experience a performance anxiety only when I am delivering a compliment.
image

I would have told you that scene from Queen you were talking about is the one where a drunk Rani recounts her breakup to Vijaylakshmi at a bar after she saves her bag from being stolen in a shady lane in Paris. I would have told you that there is no count for the number of times I can watch Queen or another movie that I strongly love. I would have told you that I immerse myself deeply into stories as if they were real. I would have told you that it is a Pisces trait to have one foot vested in reality and another running wild in a make believe world. I would have told you that even though I am sounding superstitious as of now but I am not. I would have told that I am simply guilty of reading about Pisces on Pinterest too often and choosing to believe it as it serves as the only explanation to my morbid obsession with all things fiction.

But since I am not going to say any of that and just think of all the possible things that I could have said let me sit here and stare ahead wearing an expression akin to that of a zombie.

Author: Palak

A young woman who is busy carving a small niche for herself in this huge world. People intrigue me and had it not been for a career charted out in finance I could have made one helluva psychologist. I am fond of reading fiction and equally fond of holding on to a story for a while so as to analyze the way it shaped up. Television, movies and slow music are some of my other interests. I am an obsessive thinker and observer and being an absolute coffee addict and semi-somniac leaves me with ample of time to be one. This blog is an attempt to take note of some of the thoughts that cross my mind and a few of my experiences.

3 thoughts on “The First Day Talk”

Leave a Reply

