Look what I’ve got!

In life, there is always something to be thankful for. A few days ago, Siddharth Muzumdar presented me with a wonderful reason to be grateful, by nominating me for the Liebester Award. Being a highly opinionated individual, Siddharth has a plenty to say about business, economics, technology and his perceptions on what goes around in the world. Thank you very much Siddharth for the nomination as well as for investing your energy in reading the posts on Expressions in the short span that we have known each other.


The Rules for the Liebester Award

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2. Display the award on your blog

3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.

4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself

5. Nominate 11 blogs

6. Create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.

7. List these rules in your post.

8. Inform the people that you nominated them for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it.


Here are the answers to the questions that I was asked

1. What do you feel when you hit the “Publish” button?

This is what happens with me seven on ten times when I publish a post:

Hits the Publish button.

“I think, I could have proofread it once. Scratch that I should definitely proofread it.”

Hears the sound of someone stirring in their bed.

“Please don’t wake up Mom/Dad, please go on sleeping.”

Realizes someone is already on their feet and are walking out of their room.

“Please don’t come in here”

The door opens and a pair of eyeballs turn in her direction.

“It’s 3:00 am, what are you doing up so late?”

“Um, nothing.”

“Nothing?”

“Just going to sleep now. Good Night.”

Shuts the laptop and crawls under the sheet.

2.What is the ultimate objective of your blog?

I know more than I say, think more than I speak and notice more than anybody realizes. The sole motive behind beginning to blog was to take the multitude of deliberations and observations that swirl in my brain and put them in writing. It was a bid to discover like-minded people who shared similar opinions.

An elaborate answer to this question is my post about the origin of Expressions.

3. What has been your most embarrassing and/or gratifying moment online?

I am unable to recall a precise moment to recount here. However on account of a recent encounter with Orkut, I believe my profile qualifies for an embarrassing internet footprint. And you are going to learn no more than that.

4. Are you fearful of your perception online?

Not in one bit. I always have the liberty to wipe off every shred of my online identity in a few clicks.

5. Where would be your dream vacation? What would it entail?

I love vacations. What I have longed to do, is to pack my  bags and travel alone. Although the idea had rested in my mind for ages but my fascination has strengthened since I watched Queen. I have a post on the same which is lying in my drafts and it will see light one day if I wake up with a generous temperament.

6. Which celebrity inspires you the most? Why?

If you have been around this blog for a while, you might have a faint idea of my affection for Vikas Khanna. What I admire about him is his humility. The time I met him was at an event when he was at the receiving end of the emcee’s wits and all he did was laugh along. After the last order at his restaurant Junoon, he does all the dishes himself. He believes that it keeps him rooted to the ground, reminding him of his modest beginnings.

He was born with misaligned legs, mocked by his peers as a child and ran a catering business that barely broke even. He was initially turned down by the college that he graduated from and the finest restaurants in India overlooked him during placements. He had lived penniless in shelter homes in New York. Yet he managed to endure these adversities to emerge as the winner of four Michelin Stars, a celebrated book author and earned himself the title of Sexiest Chef Alive.

7. Which is your dream job? Why?

As a child, I did two things well, scoring high marks and watching television. Somehow I always believed that good grades cannot be relied upon, that when I grow up I will lose my skill with marks. So I imagined myself taking a profession concerning television, more specifically writing for television shows.

8. What do you reckon would the title of your first book, if you write one? (If you have written already, put that up)

A friend once told me that my biography could be named ‘Of Mistakes and Misfits’. I think she couldn’t have been more accurate.

9. Which has been your best read so far? What about it makes it so special?

I read ‘To kill a Mockingbird’ for a cousin who was due to submit a book report on the same. It is an exceptional read because on the surface it seems an ordinary tale about childhood observations and experiences. Subtly built-in the larger plot are the complexities- gender stereotypes, class discrimination, travesty of justice, prejudices- that we face in our lives.

10. What is that one trait that others find annoying but you can’t accept or can’t change?

On some days, I wake up with a persistent desire to stay in solitude. So the phone goes into the drawer, meaning which the texts, the WhatsApp messages and the calls that day shall be ignored.

11. What in your favorite quote has inspired you?

“Nothing in life is an unmixed blessing.”

I believe that not one good thing in life comes without a loss or bereavement. It is destiny’s measure to keep one grounded.


Here are 11 random facts about myself

  • The first word that I spoke was ‘Sansar’ (World), the name of a television show that aired then.
  • I am blessed with an excellent memory. I never lose track of documents, birthdays and numbers. I can tell you what I was doing on a said date last year or the year before last.
  • I do not know how to drive but I know for a fact that I will be a pathetic driver.
  • I am fussy about the coffee I drink. I use coffee powder consisting of chicory instead of 100% coffee. It may not occur to some as a huge difference but it does to me and even the tax authorities. As it turns out the exemption slabs differ between the two.
  • Since 2009, one thing that features on my bucket list is to own 100 pairs of footwear.
  • I watched the first season of Vampire Diaries straight for 24 hours without any breaks.
  • I still hold a grudge against a teacher who initially denied to accept me in his coaching classes. He did not even ask me one question to test my knowledge in the subject and said a straight ‘No’ to my face.
  • I love weddings, the celebrations and the rituals. Ironically I have grown up to lose faith in marriages.
  • I am that glib a liar that most people find it hard to differentiate between when I am saying the truth and when I am lying.
  • The app Songify failed to make a song out of anything I said while using the app. Not even singing a song worked.
  • In class 10, I worked hard on the subjects of Arts and Crafts in school. I was very uncomfortable with the idea of a grade D standing next to all theA1s on myCBSE mark sheet.

Here are my Nominations for the Liebester Award

Here are my questions for the nominees

  1. Name one fictional character that you could completely identify with, as if it were your own self on paper or screen.
  2. If you wanted one superpower, what would it be?
  3. What is the one quality you think defines a good writer?
  4. Which one is your favorite post on your blog?
  5. Has your blog turned out be exactly how you imagined it, at the time of its inception?
  6. If you could ask God one question, what would it be?
  7. If you were presented with an opportunity to travel in time, where would you go- the past or the future?
  8. If you were to teach a class for a week, what subject would you teach?
  9. What’s your favorite ad commercial?
  10. What is the one thing that you’re addicted to?
  11. What is the one luxury that you cannot live without?

Author: Palak

A young woman who is busy carving a small niche for herself in this huge world. People intrigue me and had it not been for a career charted out in finance I could have made one helluva psychologist. I am fond of reading fiction and equally fond of holding on to a story for a while so as to analyze the way it shaped up. Television, movies and slow music are some of my other interests. I am an obsessive thinker and observer and being an absolute coffee addict and semi-somniac leaves me with ample of time to be one. This blog is an attempt to take note of some of the thoughts that cross my mind and a few of my experiences.

8 thoughts on “Look what I’ve got!”

  1. Wow. Thanks again for your nomination! It will be fun to hunt for other new bloggers. You posed some interesting questions. I might have to ask your help with new ones! 🙂

  2. Congratulations, Palak, and thank you so much for considering me. It’s an honor 🙂

    Recently I stopped doing posts on awards because I never really get around to them, but I did want to respond to your questions coz they were so much fun!

    1. Batman. Seriously, I could be a vigilante. And I’d be totally human; not an alien like Superman or a mutant like Wolverine.
    2. I wish I could time-travel. That way I could just skip to the future to see what becomes of my blog!
    3. Good editing skills. Write what you want and then cut out the crap.
    4. Difficult to say, but I think I loved writing my wedding chronicles the most. Those are the happiest posts you will ever find on my blog. Also, the haunted house series was fun to write!
    5. No way. I had no idea what I was doing when I started writing (which was exactly a year ago). I thought I was going to write about my experiences as a child abuse victim, but then life kept getting in the way, and now that’s all I write about.
    6. What happens after people die?
    7. The future! The past sucks.
    8. Sarcasm. People just don’t get it anymore. 
    9. The Cadbury’s one where the cricketer’s girlfriend jumps into the field and does that dance used to be my fav’te. And now I find the Nescafe stand-up comedy ad pretty nice.
    10. I wanted to say Mister, but the truth is, I’m addicted to my blog. Nothing else comes close!
    11. Sleep. I can sleep all day long. I get cranky if I don’t get a good night’s sleep.

    Thanks again for the nomination! 🙂

    1. I admire your upfront opinions on feminism and religious bigotry.
      Thank you so much for answering the questions 😀
      Answer 6 and 8- exactly what I would’ve said. People do need help with sarcasm ;).
      See you around!

Leave a Reply

