Looking Back at the Boy Who Lived

Daily Prompt: Off the Shelf

Imagine yourself curled up in a corner, grief stricken on the continuous disappointments that you have faced in life and bereaved of any hope at all. You have nothing to call your own except for the affection of some; but then love cannot take you very far in life, can it?

You know what you should do? Pick up Harry Potter and give it an intent read.

 

Because only then you will realize that love is an emotion so strong that it can rebound the mightiest of spells.You will come to understand that affluence is no yardstick to judge a family’s well being. The Weasleys show usΒ that happiness is simply a function of the cocoon of affection that shades the family. You will begin to appreciate the prowess of humor, that even a small joke holds the strength to appease the soul in face of mortal danger. You will realize that no individual is an open book, very often we let our preconceptions dominate our opinion of others. Needless to say, a faulty premise will lead to erroneous conclusions.

It will teach you to bear that each one is human, thus, is bound to err. Howsoever shocking it may seem, even Dumbledore being Dumbledore could have been flawed. No creature is above another, as inconsequential an individual may be to us, mistreating them can force them to take actions that may prove fatal to us. Kreacher is a standing evidence to this. A reflection of your innermost desires is no more than an illusion and opting to fall prey to the lure of such a mirror will lead only to misery.

Oh and finally wizardry how so much advanced it may be, can still not undo death and the pain that follows.

I am revisiting the series after five years and on my second stint with Harry Potter, I am coming upon many a new insights that I had overlooked the first time. Harry Potter is not simply a children’s book built on a premise of sorcery, it is much deeper than that. It is once said in the book

Words in my humble opinion, are the most inexhaustible source of magic that we have.

Once you read this book, you will find this true because it will definitely leave you enchanted.

Oh if you still don’t believe me, all I can say is that I wish I could hold you under a confounding charm (if there were one) and make you read Harry Potter.

Author: Palak

A young woman who is busy carving a small niche for herself in this huge world. People intrigue me and had it not been for a career charted out in finance I could have made one helluva psychologist. I am fond of reading fiction and equally fond of holding on to a story for a while so as to analyze the way it shaped up. Television, movies and slow music are some of my other interests. I am an obsessive thinker and observer and being an absolute coffee addict and semi-somniac leaves me with ample of time to be one. This blog is an attempt to take note of some of the thoughts that cross my mind and a few of my experiences.

14 thoughts on “Looking Back at the Boy Who Lived”

  1. Great, great choice. I re-read the entire series three years ago and it was a great, great journey to take again. I just love that world and the characters and especially once you know how it all unfolds, it’s interesting to see some of the brilliant subtleties J.K. Rowling included along the way. I’m gearing up to re-read the series again; I’m getting that “itch” for it. I miss them. I really miss the joy of getting the next book at midnight, too. Good times.

    1. Thanks so much πŸ™‚
      I think it is a brilliant series. Its such a touching tale but at the same time it is so cleverly written that it demands your attention throughout. I am about to finish my second reading soon and it seems weird to step back in the muggle world again. Ah!

  2. I must admit I never read all the Harry Potters – but enjoyed the ones I did. I’m now planning to read them with my kids in a few years when they are old enough :).

    This was a beautifully written post. Agreed that the books were about so much more than magic.

  3. Yes! I re-read the series at least once a year – it just never gets old, and reading it makes me feel as though I never get old either πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Palak!
    I am always in absolute agreement with anything that says Harry Potter is awesome!
    You really caught the essence of the story there. I am never going to tire of reading those books ever! πŸ™‚

    1. Same here Jinal, I think I can never get enough of Harry Potter. Muggle world is just so boring πŸ˜‰
      Thank you so much for dropping by and reading πŸ™‚

  5. Though I’m not particularly a fan of the HP series, this post does present a compelling motive for me to read. I read the first four books and then gave up, moving on to more variety

    1. When I first read them at 15, I just thought of them as good novels. It was only on my second reading that I understood the sublimity of the narrative and the deeper meaning behind the plot events.
      I will be glad if you pick them up again πŸ˜€

  6. Beautifully expressed, keeps the magic alive πŸ™‚
    I have read and re-read the books many times till Deathly Hallows released. Perhaps the curiosity and mystery drove me for the same because I have been unable to read them once I completed the series. There have been times I’ve picked up the book, and have really wanted to read it again but keep it back before I can figure out why. It sort of gave me a closure that I wished it didn’t because reading the books was almost therapeutic for me.

    1. The same has happened to me as well. I think I was able to read it for a second time only because I had forgotten a major portion of the plot. Besides, I had never paid attention to the deeper insights in the narrative. But now, even if I want to revisit the books, I just can’t get myself through it. The important thing is that the book came back to me at a crucial juncture last year, when I was personally in need of a lot of hope. I wish I could fall back on them again, if such a situation so arises in the future. Thanks so much for reading Tvisha☺

Leave a Reply

