That little gesture

Daily Prompt: A Brand New You, Effective Tomorrow.

Tomorrow is the first day of a brand new year. Tomorrow you get to become anyone in the world that you wish. Who are you? You can choose to by anyone, alive today or someone gone long ago. If you decide to stay “you” share your rationale.

Daily Prompt: A Brand New You, Effective Tomorrow

I am the Santa Claus of the house, I mean I am the one who brings them birthday surprises and gifts. Since I was 10, I have been taking care of the anniversary and birthday celebrations. In fact, my parents prefer that I order a cake for myself as well on my birthday and walk up to them and tell them what I want as a gift. Both of them find the task of planning a birthday surprise a little taxing, so they try to stay aloof from it.

Last year, a day before my birthday, my parents took me to a nearby mall just to kill some time. While I was helping myself to a Frappe, they walked into a gift store. I followed them only to find that they were looking for a birthday card for me. I laughed and told them that the conventional way of buying someone a card is that you do it in their absence However, they completely ignored the remark and continued scrambling through the shelves. My father found a card which was like a Best Daughter Certificate while my mother zeroed in on this gorgeous pink and silver card. Mom insisted that I would never buy a Certificate card for someone and that I fancy thoughtful cards. My father retorted that the one he had picked is way cuter than what my mom had chosen. Holding their respective cards, they both beamed at me and took me back home.

At around 12 that night, they brought to my bed a  chocolate cake with candles lighting on it, they patiently waited for me to finish talking to my friends over the phone and then they sang Happy Birthday for me as I blowed the candles and cut the cake. They handed me their cards and even asked me to pick which one do I like better. It was a very special birthday for me because they had taken the pain of doing something they do not relish. I had never cut a cake at 12, it had been over a decade when they picked out a cake for me and they had never given me birthday cards; of course they tell me now and then that they love me but there is a different charm in having it written on paper. That night, I felt blessed.

Thus, today, tomorrow or any other day for that matter I would choose to be myself to have such a doting family in my life.

Author: Palak

A young woman who is busy carving a small niche for herself in this huge world. People intrigue me and had it not been for a career charted out in finance I could have made one helluva psychologist. I am fond of reading fiction and equally fond of holding on to a story for a while so as to analyze the way it shaped up. Television, movies and slow music are some of my other interests. I am an obsessive thinker and observer and being an absolute coffee addict and semi-somniac leaves me with ample of time to be one. This blog is an attempt to take note of some of the thoughts that cross my mind and a few of my experiences.

5 thoughts on “That little gesture”

  1. That was just such a cute heartwarming post to start off the new year with. You truly are blessed with such a loving family and such wonderful parents. Happy New Year to you and your loved ones 😀

Leave a Reply

