Literary Detours in the Classroom

Daily Prompt: Blogger in a Strange Land.

What’s the strangest place from which you’ve posted to your blog? When was the last time you were out and about, and suddenly thought, “I need to write about this!”?

Daily Prompt: Blogger in a Strange Land

 

On an extremely hot afternoon, I had been writing a blog on the Daily Prompt:Secret of Success for around half an hour, when my Corporate Tax Planning lecture began. I was sitting on the first bench, on a corner seat and the teacher was standing right above my nose. Since I was already in the process of writing the blog I could not resist myself for the next two hours when the lecture was scheduled to get over. So I slipped my phone right beneath the desk and resumed writing. That day, we started a new chapter relating to Tax Provisions on Non Resident. How it works out in the CTP lectures is, that the teacher first quizzes us on our knowledge of Income Tax (a subject we did in the third semester) and later explains us the applications of the various provisions.

The first question was, “How do you determine the Residential Status of an individual for taxation purposes?”

While the class was buzzing with responses, I turned oblivious to them and wrote, “He pulls out a lustrous knife from the drawer and as he runs a finger along its body..”. I read the sentence again to ensure that I am content with it and then raised my head and started nodding to pretend that I am paying attention. The discussion on the provisions continued until the teacher came up with another question, “How do you determine whether a Resident Individual was Ordinarily Resident in the relevant previous year?”

My fingers were busy writing swyping, “his astute sense of timing and the extent to which every twist is to be cooked on the flames of his imagination..’ when I observed the lull in the class. I turned around to see no arm popped in the air and I thought about answering it myself because it would rule out any suspicions about my lack of interest in the lecture or subject.  I stood up and articulated the provisions, namely,

  1. The individual should be a resident in at least 2 years out of the 10 years preceding the relevant previous year.
  2. The individual should have been in India for a period of at least 730 days out of the 7 years preceding the relevant previous year.

The teacher gave me a confused look (the problem with teachers is that they assume you to be a dud when you are not an outspoken one) and handed out an Eclairs (another ritual of the CTP lecture). As the discussion pursued, I returned to my sentence and a while later, a girl expressed her inability to comprehend what I had uttered a minute or two ago. So I had to repeat the provisions again at a slower pace, that as I recall, was the final pause in blogging. Having contributed for the day, I traversed back into Aarav’s world again, finishing my post in time to listen to the banter about hot athletes, a trick of my teacher to make everyone remember a tax provision on Non Resident athletes.

6 thoughts on “Literary Detours in the Classroom

  1. mahabore says:

    Wow, you are quite the nerdy geek aren’t you, swyping a blog post while listening to CTP questions and answering them with the bookish definition, all at the same time. You remind me of Sheldon Cooper of The Big Bang Theory TV Series, you geek 😀 😀

    • Palak says:

      I am taking that as a compliment because Sheldon Cooper is one person who can absolutely make me chuckle 🙂 Besides I am not the conventional nerd, its simply that I am blessed with a good memory 😉

Leave a Reply

