I am addicted to the Quitter’s Flu

Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough.

Have you ever been addicted to anything, or worried that you were? Have you ever spent too much time and effort on something that was a distraction from your real goals? Tell us about it.

Daily Prompt: Can't Get Enough

Doctor: Hello Shreya

Shreya: Hello Doctor

Doctor: So what has brought you to my clinic?

Shreya: Uh, well, I am suffering from the Quitter’s Flu.

Doctor: If I might ask, what is that?

Shreya: When one tries to come out of an addiction, they might experience a set of symptoms like nausea, headache, insomnia, sore throat, etc which are collectively referred to as Quitter’s Flu.

Doctor: And what are you trying to abstain from?

Shreya: Quitter’s Flu.

Doctor: What?

Shreya: Yes, I am suffering from Quitter’s Flu which has been induced by trying to quit Quitter’s Flu.

Doctor: I cannot make sense of anything you are saying. Can you be a little clearer?

Shreya: It all started when I developed a chronic addiction for this show called Vampire Diaries. My brother called me a psychopath and thus I stopped watching the show. That was my first tryst with quitter’s flu.

Doctor: And?

Shreya: Soon I developed another addiction, coffee. But after I broke a pair of my incisors in an accident, the dentist informed me that coffee weakens the enamel and then I resolved to quit coffee. That was the second time when quitter’s flu surfaced.

Doctor: Am I missing the point here?

Shreya: After coffee it was a shoe fetish but a big fat hole in my pocket and I was compelled to discontinue. Then I could not stop drinking cola as much as I don’t recall drinking water in those days. However the bulge of fat on my arms overpowered my addiction. Likewise, it was one thing after the other and I kept on developing Quitter’s Flu after regular intervals. For long now I haven’t been addicted to anything but the symptoms of Quitter’s Flu persist. So I have concluded that maybe, I am addicted to Quitter’s Flu but if I try to come out of it then again I will be suffering from Quitter’s Flu.

Doctor: (Perplexed at the queer scenario) That is quite a vicious circle you have drawn yourself into.

Shreya: So can you write me a prescription for the same?

Doctor: I think you should find another thing to be addicted to and while you are at it please don’t try to come out of it.

Shreya: That is a brilliant suggestion, simple as well. I wonder why did it not occur to me.

Doctor: Oh dear, that is what doctors are for.

Author: Palak

A young woman who is busy carving a small niche for herself in this huge world. People intrigue me and had it not been for a career charted out in finance I could have made one helluva psychologist. I am fond of reading fiction and equally fond of holding on to a story for a while so as to analyze the way it shaped up. Television, movies and slow music are some of my other interests. I am an obsessive thinker and observer and being an absolute coffee addict and semi-somniac leaves me with ample of time to be one. This blog is an attempt to take note of some of the thoughts that cross my mind and a few of my experiences.

1 thought on “I am addicted to the Quitter’s Flu”

Leave a Reply

