Summoning The Bird Which Has Flown Far Away

Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder.

Describe what it feels like to hear a beautiful piece of music or see a stunning piece of art.

The other day a sparrow flew inside my room and the mere sight of it, shook me. The first thought that crossed my mind was to shoo it away but before I could turn my thoughts into action my brother forced me out of the room. Appalled at my queer behaviour, he wondered if I was in my right mind. He switched off the the fan and shut the door stealthily thus leaving the bird at it’s peace. Later in the day I realized my folly and pondered over what could have led me to be so horrified at the sight of a sparrow. Actually, the only organism which enters through the window is a lizard and rarely do I hear a bird chirping within the four walls of my home. My elder brother, however has been more accustomed to the image of birds.

A few weeks later, it came to my knowledge that my college has flagged an initiative called ‘Plumes- Bringing Back the Birds Initiative’. That unlike me, not everyone in this world is myopic to have entirely ignored the diminishing population of birds. Under this initiative a Nest Making Workshop was organized where we were acquainted with the reasons which have driven the birds away from our lives. As it turns out, House Sparrow is the State Bird of Delhi and it is extremely unusual to spot a bird in the capital itself. The whole motive behind the endeavour of making nests is to open up the doors of your abode for the birds, to make them believe that they are still welcome in our lives.

Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder


These are some of the nests which can be created out of the discarded materials. Why I have chosen these nests for today’s prompt is because the craft of making nests is a scarce art and it has come into origin for a worthy cause. When it comes to art, I have always experienced a ‘distant feeling’, that something so serene can never be brought to life with my hands. The elation or the out worldly emotions would have magnified had I been the creator.

During the workshop, I was apprehensive about my ability to make a nest and I was so moved about the idea that I certainly did not want anything to go wrong with the nest. ย The fear of making a hideous nest which might completely defy the object behind the whole endeavour led me to seek a friend’s assistance in the process. As the workshop culminated I felt this distinct sense of pride in myself, that I have done an admirable act in the day.

I have decided to pen down the procedure of making nest, so that any of you who reads this post can make one for your home

What you need is:

  1. Five circular wooden rings roughly of the size of an embroidery frame
  2. One small wooden ring
  3. Thread
  4. Glue
  5. Wooden Plank of the size of ruler
  6. Jute Cloth
  7. Wet Mud
  8. Metal Wire

Here is how you do it

  1. Take the first four rings and fit one ring into another in a longitudinal manner so that what you have is a globe like structure. Make sure that all the joints are secured with thread and glue.
  2. The fifth ring has to be fitted in latitudinal manner.2013-08-13 13.50.02
  3. Fit the small ring into any of the spaces in the the upper half of the structure with the help of thread and glue.
  4. Stick one end of the plank with the centre at the bottom of the structure.
  5. Tie the metal wire around the upper centre of the structure so that it can act as a holder.
  6. Cover the structure with the help of a jute cloth making sure that there is a hole in the cloth at the same position as the small ring and that the plank extends outwards the cloth. The ring will act as an entrance for the bird and the plank will act as a passage for the bird.
  7. Finally what you need is wet mud and the will to get your hands dirty. Smoothly massage the mud over the nest and then let it dry in the sun.

Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder

This is how the nests look once they are done. Give it a try once because sometimes it is not enough to behold a piece of art but to craft one.

Here is a detailed insight into the venture:ย http://ankurprakriti.weebly.com/plumes.html

Author: Palak

A young woman who is busy carving a small niche for herself in this huge world. People intrigue me and had it not been for a career charted out in finance I could have made one helluva psychologist. I am fond of reading fiction and equally fond of holding on to a story for a while so as to analyze the way it shaped up. Television, movies and slow music are some of my other interests. I am an obsessive thinker and observer and being an absolute coffee addict and semi-somniac leaves me with ample of time to be one. This blog is an attempt to take note of some of the thoughts that cross my mind and a few of my experiences.

12 thoughts on “Summoning The Bird Which Has Flown Far Away”

  1. Thank you for the lesson. Did you get many birds to live there? I had got wooden boxes made for birds. Only one family came. Rest observe them but do not enter. May be mud coat is a good idea because it removes human smell.

    1. Well a handful of birds have shown up. What we are planning is around a hundred nests by spring because mostly birds migrate during spring and autumn. So every patch of green in the college has a couple of nests to shelter the birds when they do turn up next year.

Leave a Reply

