Footprints in the Sand

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/daily-prompt-reflections/

image

Earlier today, I was travelling and there is something about road travel that makes me think with clarity. And I thought, if my life was a patch of wet sand then this blog captures my footprints on the sand. Every single element of this blog draws inspiration from the person that I am.

I chose the name Expressions because that is what this blog is about, expressing my thoughts, something which I rarely do vocally. I do not like beatingΒ  around the bush, hence the straight forward title and not a fancier one. Coming to the theme, it mirrors my affection for simplicity, even my favorite ice cream flavor is vanilla. Simplicity holds a distinct charm within itself that nothing can supersede.
The bio was very difficult for me to pen down because honestly I am not very comfortable with blurbs. For an entire day I kept on putting the pieces together to sum up the image ‘Me’. And I knew that it could not go on without the three things that fuel this blog, namely, my love for fiction and the analysis that follows (a lot of references come from fiction), my coffee addiction and finally the challenge that sleeping is for me (both of which give me time for writing as most of my posts are between 12 am to 3 am).

When I think of the posts or rather as the widget calls them, the concoctions, they are based on my observations and contemplations. What I see and learn, gives me food for thought blog. And yes my notorious fears and nightmares, also have pieces dedicated to them.

There are days of writer’s block, the days when I skip the Daily Prompt and choose to believe I have more important tasks to heed to, namely the Auditing and Taxation books that eagerly await my attention every day. Thus, a void on such days reflect my apprehensions about being a worth reading blogger or a versatile writer. And then there is this friend who does not have a single reading gene within her, who has failed best selling authors with her inability to read. But she has read every single one of my posts without my insistence and that is where I get the motivation to start afresh the next evening because I may not be that bad if I made her a reader.

Author: Palak

A young woman who is busy carving a small niche for herself in this huge world. People intrigue me and had it not been for a career charted out in finance I could have made one helluva psychologist. I am fond of reading fiction and equally fond of holding on to a story for a while so as to analyze the way it shaped up. Television, movies and slow music are some of my other interests. I am an obsessive thinker and observer and being an absolute coffee addict and semi-somniac leaves me with ample of time to be one. This blog is an attempt to take note of some of the thoughts that cross my mind and a few of my experiences.

10 thoughts on “Footprints in the Sand”

    1. Thank you so much! I think sometime all the push that you need to begin writing again is knowing that someone out there is looking forward to what you write.

Leave a Reply

