Off Track- In fond remembrance of Love

Daily Prompt: Party Animals (?).

After spending time with a group of people, do you feel energized and ready for anything or do you want to hide in the corner with a good book?

 

Daily Prompt: Party Animals (?)   Daily Prompt: Party Animals (?)

My mind is working in the oddest of ways today. I read today’s prompt and I am instantly reminded of the movie Wake Up Sid. In an initial sequence, a girl hiding in a corner in a party is caught on camera by a young boy who prefers beholding the world through a lens than his eyes. The girl is new to Mumbai  and the boy is more than willing to show her around and at that juncture they embark upon a journey to become close friends and eventually fall in love.

Still no leads on the prompt, I go back to the novel I am reading which is a romantic comedy. One of those light reads where the protagonists meet each other in strange situations and over some witty twist and turns the cupid strikes and they live happily ever after.

There, my mind derails again. I mean what is it with this day? All I can think of is ‘matters of heart’. A single question echoing my mind, does true love even exist beyond fiction?

Will my childhood sweetheart return after some odd 10 years and confess that he has never been drawn towards another girl but me? (Not, that I have one.)

The family friend’s son who is sitting across the table playing kot-piece, is he actually eyeing me with affection?

The new neighbor who makes me go weak in my knees every time I catch a sight of him, is he my Knight in Shining Armor?

Sadly, the answers to all these questions are a negative because like these instances that are lifted off chick-lit works, such sparks can fly only within pages of such novels.

So what can actually rejuvenate me after a party ( at least as of today- the wretched day when l feel immensely love lorn) is finding a guy who can make me feel loved. Cupids, Greek-god looks, parallels drawn- eyes like pears (soap) or his boost (energy drink) colored eyes- in Anuja Chauhan’s novels taking the shape of reality before my eyes. And the chant – ‘Twenty and never been in love’- dispelled.

Author: Palak

A young woman who is busy carving a small niche for herself in this huge world. People intrigue me and had it not been for a career charted out in finance I could have made one helluva psychologist. I am fond of reading fiction and equally fond of holding on to a story for a while so as to analyze the way it shaped up. Television, movies and slow music are some of my other interests. I am an obsessive thinker and observer and being an absolute coffee addict and semi-somniac leaves me with ample of time to be one. This blog is an attempt to take note of some of the thoughts that cross my mind and a few of my experiences.

2 thoughts on “Off Track- In fond remembrance of Love”

Leave a Reply

