The Squawk of Unopened Books

Daily Prompt: Procrastination.

What have you been putting off doing? Why?

Daily Prompt: Procrastination

 I open my cupboard and I intently look at my glossy new textbooks for this semester, all untouched, the pages yearning to be flipped for the past twenty days. Carefully I pull out an old notebook and close the cupboard. Back inside, my textbooks are voicing their discontent about my negligence towards them.

“Oh, there she goes again like every other day leaving us behind to rot on this shelf.”, said my E-Commerce textbook.

“At least you have been here for the past three days, we have been left to asphyxiate in here for around a fortnight.”, replied my Financial Management book.

“But, she has been busy, right. Going back home, unpacking, then shifting to another house and now the placement interviews, how do you expect her to find time for studying.”, reasoned my Management Accounting book.

“Easy for you to say, because she has shown the mercy of opening and reading you.”, said my Advanced Accounts book, burning green in envy.

“Don’t be childish, she opened me only because she hates the subject. She can’t make sense of one word during her lecture in college so she opened me one day, read a few pages and once she got bored with the theory she skipped fifty pages straight and started solving the practical questions.”, told the Management Accounting book in an attempt to pacify the others.

“But she never puts off studying like that. Every semester she sits down with her books and studies whatever little she can each day.”, wondered a confused Accounting for CA-CPT book, which has been with me for two years now.

“She is busy, can’t you see, dud head?”, replied my thin Auditing book, annoyed with the daily tittle tattle of the fellow books.

“If she is so busy, then how come she manages to blog everyday?”, asked my fat Auditing book.

“Even if she were not busy, she would have never mustered the courage to pull a theory book of your size. Her disinclination towards theory subjects is not unknown to any of us here.”, teased my Corporate Tax Planning book.

“But, she swore at the onset of this semester that she will study theory subjects as one chapter each day.”, said the fat Auditing book.

“She says that every semester but never lives up to it. Haven’t you realized, she is a number cruncher. Her interest in theoretical subjects ceased the day she passed the Social Science exam in tenth standard. Since then, she has never heeded to the cramming-up subjects.”, informed both my Mercantile Law book and Corporate Law book in unison. Both of these books have suffered hostility at my hands and in turn led to a steep fall in my percentages.

I open my cupboard again and as I run a casual glance on my books, it seems as if each one of them is screaming at me, “Take me”. Ignoring their hypothetical pleas, I run my fingers on the shelf looking for a pen and shut the door as soon as I grab one.

“What is she doing with a pen and notebook, if she hasn’t studied anything so far?”, questioned my Strategic Management book.

“Oh she needs to write ten words randomly for today’s prompt. I peeped on to her laptop screen while you guys were begging her to pick you.”, articulated my Accounts for CA-CPT book. “I am smart enough to know that she will study only when she wants to irrespective of anything else. No wonder I am her favorite book.”, the book went on, beaming with pride at its own prudence.

In my defense, I studied rigorously for a period of three months, suspending every activity of leisure. I was so exhausted at the end of my exams, that I could not bring myself to open a book for another two months. Reluctantly, the hiatus is still on.

See, what all, others have postponed doing;

  1. Worm into the bedroom mission continues | weliveinaflat
  2. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | thecommonmap
  3. The Man who Always Worried | Godrick Gnomish
  4. Time Keeps On Slipping…Into the Future | Andante Cantabile
  5. Procrastination | Geek Ergo Sum
  6. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34
  7. The Eventual Return of the Masked Procrastinator | Not a Punk Rocker
  8. Underrated | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  9. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. thesis? what thesis? | FamousFeline
  11. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | littlegirlstory
  12. The Queen Of Procrastination | suzie81’s Blog
  13. A Daily Prompt Poem: Time « Vicariously Poetic
  14. Daily Prompt: Procrastinate | A mom’s blog
  15. Procrastination | Sue’s Trifles
  16. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | My Atheist Blog
  17. Daily Prompt:Putting off | Motherhood and Beyond
  18. Kick-Ass Cake and Delaying the Novel Moment! | alienorajt
  19. To Gym or Not to Gym | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  20. Putting off Me | My Beautiful Breakdown
  21. Daily Prompt: Procrastination « Mama Bear Musings
  22. Daily Prompt: Procrastination « Mama Bear Musings
  23. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | The Daily Post « The Blogging Path
  24. Procrastination | The Ambitious Drifter
  25. Why do today what can be put off till tomorrow? Maybe, I will write this blog tomorrow! | jennifermarshcurtis
  26. “I’ll Admit It, I Procrastinate” | Creative Mysteries
  27. Assignment | ayimas
  28. Procrastination | Maine Forest Cafe
  29. 142. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | kevindeisher
  30. Preview 8/20/13: Shakespeare, Hip-Hop, & Why Radio Sucks | Crown Town Scribe
  31. How long can I really put something off? | Rob’s Surf Report
  32. Laziness is the answer | amateurxpress
  33. Do It Later | Tony’s Texts
  34. Poetry Contest! | Haiku By Ku
  35. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | The Daily Post | Emotional Fitness
  37. Daily Prompt: Procrastination SISTA IS DOING IT FOR HERSELF | Phoenix Flights
  38. Red line on my new iMac – procrastination topic | Slow and steady
  39. Procrastination | The Rider
  40. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Things I have learnt today
  41. Daily Prompt – Procrastination | Kate Murray
  42. Time Pox [Daily Prompt: Procrastination] | unknowinglee
  43. Procasti- Yawn. | Blue Loft
  44. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Basically Beyond Basic
  45. Pay Me Now or Pay Me Later | No Facilities
  46. I Love Packing, I Hate Unpacking: Procrastination | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  47. Procrastination | Purple Rosemary
  48. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Ruminations from an Introvert
  49. A Treatise on Time (Or, Why I am Doing This Instead of All the Other Things I (maybe) Should be Doing) | The Silver Leaf Journal
  50. Kind of Procrastinating | Kind of a Bum
  51. What if I wasn’t so lazy? | Okay, what if ?
  52. Daily Prompt: Procrastination – It is Earlier When You Think | SERENDIPITY
  53. It Can Wait | Upstairs Productions
  54. Daily Post: Procrastination | Valley Girl Gone Country
  55. Procrastination: I think… | Life & Times
  56. Now is the Time……..(daily prompt wp) | Daily Observations
  57. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Contemplating Me
  58. Time is Sort of on My Side | Sincerely, Ms. Roberts
  59. Packing | The Pigeon Blog
  60. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Moments Thru Lens
  61. How To Turn A Woman Into She-Hulk | Molly Greye
  62. Procrastination. . . or, I’m Sorry I’m a Jerk | momasteblog
  63. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | februarylove18
  64. An Adventure in Expression | the REmissionary
  65. WordPress Daily Prompt: Procrastination [quote] | so i wrote
  66. A Bad Case Of The Fuck-its (Sonnet) | Liars, Hypocrites & The Development of Human Emotion
  67. Ironic | thelifeofbubbs
  68. Obviously Not THIS Post | theeyelife
  69. Curb Your Emotions. | The Rural Yankee
  70. Never Put Off ‘Til Tomorrow What You Can Do Day After Tomorrow (Or A Decade Or Two). | Forlorn Hope: A Diary Of A Broken Heart
  71. Procrastination | The Nameless One
  72. That thing you had to do – what was it again? | MC’s Whispers
  73. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | katz n’ kale
  74. Prcrastination | Legends of Lorata
  75. Queen of Procastrination… | notsinglebutnothappy
  76. Pro.Cras.Ti.Nate. | In diesen Augenblick
  77. Daily Prompt: The World Runs Faster Upside-Down | One Starving Activist
  78. No ducking this one … | 365 And Counting
  79. Daily Prompt: Procrastination » My Life, My Way, My Words
  80. ㊉ points in time ㊉ | The RunningFather Blog
  81. Daily Prompt: (Thy name is) Procrastination | Pohlin Lau
  82. Procrastination | My Tiny Thoughts
  83. Don’t be stuck in intentions, get beyond! | Wise Counsel
  84. T i m e | The Magic Black Book
  85. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | From Slacker To Scribe
  86. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | From Slacker To Scribe
  87. Don’t Forget to Breathe | Kami’s Beautiful Morning
  88. Time and Bridges (from both sides now) | marsowords
  89. The Ultimate Procrastination | Whimsical Eclecticist
  90. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | To Breathe is to Write
  91. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Ruminations & Observations…
  92. Procrastinate? Me? Yeah, Right. | My OCD Diaries
  93. Living for Tomorrow | On Gorgeousness
  94. Daily Prompt: Procrastination 18:8 | familyphotosfoodcraft.com
  95. Bargaining With The Clock | mentalrollercoaster
  96. Daily Prompt: Procrastin​ation | Jake Kuyser
  97. Procrastination Time Again… | planningforaccidents
  98. A Disney Experience: Aulani’s Lazy River | Hawaii Traveling Mom
  99. So depressing | Life is great

29 thoughts on “The Squawk of Unopened Books

      • Siddharth Muzumdar says:

        Yes exactly !!! But you’re like the nerdy Finance whiz kid while I am the wordy love-strung fool. Lol.
        I wrote a similar dialogue once about love. Do check it out if you feel like it…

      • Siddharth Muzumdar says:

        Lol. I think we’ve had quite a conversation here today through the comments. I guess we could each publish a blog post about the comments on our blog posts… 😀

      • Siddharth Muzumdar says:

        Haha I am quite inspired right now, given the dearth of posts on my blog… 😀
        I also might take this up as a post.
        Btw, my WordPress just crashed twice, considering the amount of activity that has suddenly befallen it after months !!! 😀

      • Palak says:

        This what you call, ‘dearth of posts’. Hop on to my blog and you will get a good idea on what a dearth of posts actually is 😛
        Lol I think WordPress is experiencing performance anxiety because of us 🙂

  1. Siddharth Muzumdar says:

    Haha, I have been quite an infrequent blogger for a while.

    Yes I think it is. Somehow it makes me feel so proud of myself. 😀

Leave a comment